top of page
  • lauraumpleby

Exhibition Print Testing

For my final exhibition pieces I am going to produce two Duratran prints mounted into a Lightbox each. Duratrans is a form of backlit paper that feels similar to plastic. When it has been printed on the images look underexposed but when it is held up to light, the image lightens.


I experimented with the available paper in the print room at university which was a matt backlit paper printed on the large format inkjet printer. I really didn't like this paper due to the matt finish which dulled the images and made it harder for the viewer to see the images on a Lightbox. I discovered that diffused light dulled the images a lot.


I also experimented with the UV printer at university, printing onto acrylic and glass sheets to see the level of detail with four layers of ink. I loved these finished prints and would have loved to have presented them in the final exhibition. However, I left it too late to experiment further with this printing method and instead decided to print my final exhibition prints on the Duratran paper provided by Spectrum. I did, although, use the UV printer to print my name onto the front of my portfolio box to make it stand out from other's and look more professional.


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey. My names Laura and I'm a commercial photographer based in Leeds, UK. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

© 2023 by Capture the Moment. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page