top of page
  • lauraumpleby

Collaborating with a Professional Printing Company



Researching many professional photographic printing companies, I emailed Spectrum, Genesis and Metro imaging for print quotes for two 16 x 20 inch duratran backlit images. All three of the companies seemed professional and responded fast within a day. However, I decided to use Spectrum as they were strongly recommended by the university and the employee, Klair, was very helpful answering all of my emails within an hour. Due to this I was able to ask multiple questions regarding production times and if I needed to edit the images lighter to prevent them printing dark. Klair reassured me that they would make any required adjustments on the images if I told her what kind of lights I was using in my Lightboxes.


The prints arrived fast, within 5 days of confirming the payment, and were wrapped securely in a poster tube with protective film surrounding them to prevent damage. I was impressed by the quality of the paper and prints. The paper is thick, easily unrolling from the tube and appears more durable than most papers I have experimented during my degree. Without the backing light, the prints look detailed and not too dark but when I layered them on the Lightboxes the colours popped and the images came to life. The only issue I had with the prints is that the product shot is slightly too exposed on the paper which is enhanced when it is backlit but overall, I am impressed by the professionalism Spectrum showed.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey. My names Laura and I'm a commercial photographer based in Leeds, UK. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

© 2023 by Capture the Moment. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page