top of page
  • lauraumpleby

Henry Moore Institute Visit



Walking around Leeds City Centre I came across some of the photo installations situated down Briggatte. These installations were installed for Leeds Light Night in October 2021 where artists were commissioned to create large scale work. I love this installation it shows photography can be exhibited outside of its usual setting. The stands that hold the images are all the same exhibiting 3 images on each and made out of wood which is durable against harsh weathers and a natural material. PVC is also covering the images which again is more durable than glass and protects the paper from rain and snow. The images themselves are predominantly overhead shots of English locations, varying from coastal towns to industrial sites.


Above is some of the photographic work exhibited at the Henry Moore Institute. This work shows the reactions and way people acted around the sculptures. Personally I think the black frames with the thick white mount suits the images really well as they compliment the black and white colour palette. However, I think the different frame and mount sizes are quite distracting from the images themselves. I also think the size works quite well as they are head height and small to suggest that the work is personal. I may consider this style for my exhibition pieces as it is simple and neat.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey. My names Laura and I'm a commercial photographer based in Leeds, UK. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

© 2023 by Capture the Moment. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page