top of page
  • lauraumpleby

Master's Degree Application and Natasjja Barker Writing Workshop


Considering my options post-degree, I have been looking at a Master's degree at the University of Huddersfield to continue my commercial study. I feel more inclined to follow this path because I don't feel confident enough with my practice as of right now and think an extra year to develop my technical skills will be beneficial for the future. However, if I were to under


take a Master's degree, I feel confident applying at the University of Huddersfield because I am familiar with the staff, equipment available and learning methods so it would flow better to just continue at my current place of study. I think I would struggle in a new environment as I would have to build new relationships so I don't think I would be able to focus solely on the work I would be producing.


Deciding to apply for the taught full time Master's degree, I started my personal statement, discussing my recent and potential future projects. I found it difficult writing my personal statement as I don't like talking about myself and received help from my tutors with points to perhaps include. Discussing relevant texts surrounding my final major project of female beauty expectations, I combined commercial practice, aims and personal experiences to describe my personality in a professional manner.


During a statement writing workshop with Natasjja Barker, I learnt how to make my artist statement short and effective. Struggling with writing a statement regarding my commercial practice, I sat down with Natasjja to think of some points I could start writing about. After chatting with Natasjja about future education, she asked to read my personal statement, suggesting that I should include some more research and any aspirations for the Master's degree.

Recent Posts

See All

Designing My CV

Looking at my original CV that consisted of a generic word document that I used to apply for my first part-time job at a local cafe. I was going to design a creative CV first but I realised that gener

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey. My names Laura and I'm a commercial photographer based in Leeds, UK. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

© 2023 by Capture the Moment. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page