top of page
  • lauraumpleby

Competitions



Whilst researching photography competitions that required no entry or joining fee, I came across two websites, Photocrowd and Viewbug, that host weekly contests with a mixture of free and paid entry. I decided to sign up for free and upload a few photos to my profile. Initially, I was just getting use to the website but after looking at some of the competitions and some example entries, I decided to enter a few that suited my work. I didn't want to enter every competition, I wanted to be selective to gain more interest instead of overexposing the judges to the same imagery.


I didn't really expect to hear back from any of the competitions but after the winners were announced I got an email regarding my entries. I was extremely happy to see that a few of my images had been commended by some of the judges which boosted my confidence sharing my work on such a public and professional platform. I think this positive reaction has encouraged me to continue entering competitions to build exposure globally to my professional practice. I am going to continuing entering the competitions on Viewbug and Photocrowd as they are quick and easy to enter and I want to further my research into bigger competitions that are perhaps more well-known like The British Photography Awards. However, I do find it difficult to find competitions based around commercial practice as most focus on contemporary projects.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey. My names Laura and I'm a commercial photographer based in Leeds, UK. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

© 2023 by Capture the Moment. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page